The Tennessee legislature adopted House Bill 103 (HB 103), adding integrity and credibility to the booming lash tech industry. In the interest of public safety and elevating the profession, individuals who are providing, or want to begin offering, eyelash extension services must obtain an eyelash specialist license to practice. HB 103 defines eyelash services, details the 300-hour training requirements, and establishes criteria for an eyelash services shop.
Eyelash services—the processes of applying and removing a semi-permanent, thread-like, natural or synthetic single fiber to an eyelash, including cleansing the eye area and lashes before and after applying and removing extensions.
Eyelash services shop—a place of business where a licensed eyelash specialist performs, or offers to perform, only eyelash services for a fee or other form of compensation.*
*Eyelash extension services are also permitted in dual and mobile shops. An eyelash services shop is subject to the same application and inspection processes as other shop types.
What Are the Qualifications?
To apply for an eyelash specialist license, an individual must submit an exam application to the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology & Barber Examiners (Board). The application must be accompanied by:
- A nonrefundable, nontransferable exam fee
- Proof the applicant is at least 16 years old
- Proof the applicant has completed and passed a course of no less than 300 hours of classroom instruction and practical experience, including at least eight hours of theoretical instruction, in the following areas:
- Recognizing infectious or contagious diseases of the eye and allergic reactions to materials
- Proper sanitation practices
- Occupational health and safety practices
- Eyelash extension application procedures
- Eyelash extension isolation and separation procedures
- Proof the applicant completed up to one hour of online or in-person training on domestic violence focused on how to recognize signs of domestic violence, how to respond, and how to refer clients to appropriate resources. The course must be provided by a nonprofit anti-domestic violence organization recognized by the Tennessee Coalition to End Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault.
The Board will create rules allowing schools to offer a hybrid eyelash extension course for students to pursue an eyelash specialist license via a combination of apprenticeship and traditional classroom training.
Who Requires Training?
ASCP learned from the Board that individuals who hold a valid and current cosmetology, esthetics, or master barbering license in Tennessee and who practice lashing services can continue to do so without additional training. However, if you do not hold one of those licenses, you must complete the 300-hour eyelash extension training—even if you've completed an eyelash certification course in the past.
The training consists of 300 hours, an exam, and an application for an initial license. Cosmetology and esthetics schools have approved curriculum and textbooks to cover eyelash education. If you need further guidance, reach out to the Board at Ask.TDCI@TN.Gov.
Effective date: April 25, 2023.