On September 26, 2022, the Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber Board (Board) issued proposed cosmetology and barber rules. ASCP, AHP, and ANP have summarized those proposed rules for you below.
The proposed rules impact the following areas:
- Continuing education requirements
- Inactive license status
- Out-of-state license holder applications
If you would like to submit written comments to the Board in support of, or in opposition to, the proposed rules, email firstname.lastname@example.org before October 27, 2022. If you would like to present your comments in person, there is a public hearing October 27, 2022, at 9:00 a.m. EST at:
Charles Penzone Board Room
1929 Gateway Circle
Grove City, OH, 43123
Continuing Education Requirements
The proposed rules suggest altering continuing education (CE) requirements. The rules would:
- Eliminate the requirement to complete one hour of CE relevant to personal wellness
- Eliminate the requirement to complete three hours of CE related to subject matter specific to the scope of services for each license held by the individual
- Decrease the CE requirement concerning safety and infection control from four hours to three for those seeking to renew a boutique services registration
If an individual wishes to reactivate their inactive license, current law requires the individual to complete eight CE hours for each license period the license was inactive, up to a maximum of 24 hours, with four hours in sanitation and safety measures. The proposed rules would require an individual to only complete the CE requirements applicable to the current renewal period the license is to be restored.
Out-of-State License Holder Applications
This proposed rule is replacing a previous version to reflect changes to the Board's reciprocity policies, making it clear how the Board interprets “substantially similar” qualifications. For those applying for a license in Ohio from another US state or country, an applicant must hold a valid license from another jurisdiction, provide proof that their license is equivalent to that of an Ohio license, and provide proof of certified training hours.
Once an individual submits their application and applicable fee(s) to the Board, they could take Ohio’s practical and theory exams if:
- The total amount of hours required to complete their program was at least 80 percent of the program hours required in the state of Ohio
- The licensing jurisdiction where they received their current license required a test at a facility overseen by a governing licensing body
Note: One year of licensed experience can be substituted for 100 hours of training, up to a maximum of 500 hours.
- Log in to post comments