Texas Eliminates Barber and Cosmetology Instructor Licenses

House Bill 1560 passed this legislative session and was signed into law by Governor Abbott June 15, 2021. Section 3 of the bill eliminates the barber and cosmetology instructor license. Beginning September 1, 2021, an instructor license is no longer required to teach barbering or cosmetology in a licensed school.

Students currently enrolled
Schools are required to continue reporting hours for students currently enrolled in a barber or cosmetology instructor course until further notice. Students who decide to finish a course are eligible to take the instructor exams after schools notify the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) once students have completed a course. Exam fees are nonrefundable once students decide to take the exams.

Note: Students who completed their course prior to August 18, 2021, should have already received their exam eligibility and it is still valid.

If a student does not want to complete a course, they need to submit a withdrawal request to the school. Schools must provide refunds to students for unused tuition. However, schools are not required to issue refunds if a student has finished more than 50 percent of a course. If a student decides to not take the instructor exams, schools must issue a transcript and diploma showing the student’s completion of the instructor course. A certified transcript of hours may be requested from TDLR for barbers and for cosmetology, and a $5 fee is required.

New students
Schools can enroll new students into a barber or cosmetology instructor course through SHEARS until August 31, 2021. Student permit applications submitted by mail and postmarked after August 31, 2021, will be returned. These students will be eligible to take the instructor exams upon successful completion of the instructor course—if they pass the instructor exams, they will still be issued an instructor license.

Students considering August enrollment can choose to finish the course or withdraw but must follow the school’s withdrawal policy. The school must refund unused tuition.

If you have further questions, contact the TLDR Education & Examination Division at Education@tdlr.texas.gov.


Please note: We have recently updated our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. Learn more...