Beginning November 20, 2020, the new Tier 3 Personal Care Service Guidelines prohibit masks from being removed for services such as facials and beard trims.
Legislative Updates for Illinois
Illinois Division of Professional Regulation100 W Randolph, 9th Floor
Springfield, IL 62786
Email: Via contact form on website
Renewal CEU Hours: Operators 10 hours every 2 years, Instructors 20 hours every 2 years
Personal Care Services Guidelines (https://dceocovid19resources.com/assets/Restore-Illinois/businessguideli...) issued by the Illinois Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity were recently updated.
Except in the city of Chicago, hair salons, hair braiders, barbershops, nail salons, spas, massage therapy establishments, waxing centers, cosmetology schools, and other providers of personal care services may resume business operations on May 29, 2020, during Phase III: The Recovery (https://coronavirus.illinois.gov/s/restore-illinois-phase-3) of Governor Pritzker’s Restore Illinois (https://corona
There have been many changes in the massage therapy and cosmetology industries and communities in response to COVID-19 (coronavirus), from executive orders affecting businesses, to emergency rulemaking altering renewal timeliness, to distance learning modifying the student experience.
ABMP offers members a free, one-hour sexual harassment prevention training CE to meet new Illinois continuing education requirement for massage therapists.
As per the new rule developed by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR), massage therapists must complete a one-hour course in sexual harassment prevention training. ABMP has confirmed with IDFPR that we are an approved provider for this CE requirement.
ABMP has clarification regarding the previous post on this topic. The sexual harassment prevention training can be completed in a classroom setting, by webinar, or online. This class needs to be completed prior to your next renewal. All massage therapy licenses are up for renewal by December 31, 2020, so the sexual harassment CE must be completed by your renewal.
Sexual harassment continuing education is now a requirement for massage therapists as a provision to license renewal, beginning January 1, 2020.
The Illinois Division of Professional Regulation (IDFPR) passed a law in 2019 requiring anyone licensed by IDFPR, including licensed massage therapists, to complete a one-hour course in sexual harassment prevention training. Sexual harassment training will be required every renewal period. This email serves as a courtesy reminder to all ABMP members practicing in Illinois.