Due to House Bill 1560, Texas proposed new barber and cosmetology rules that decrease instructor licensing fees.
Legislative Updates for Texas
Texas TDLR Cosmetology ProgramPO Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711
Renewal CEU Hours: 4 hours every year
House Bill 1560 passed this legislative session and Section 3 of the bill eliminates the barber and cosmetology instructor license. Beginning September 1, 2021, an instructor license is no longer required to teach barbering or cosmetology in a licensed school.
Starting on March 8, 2021, candidates for the Cosmetology written examinations will be able to choose to take a written examination at one of 22 PSI site locations across Texas or take an examination through a virtual online process offered by PSI.
The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation passed an emergency rule to ensure all TDLR licensees with a license that expired between August 1, 2020, and November 30, 2020, now hold an “emergency license” valid for up to 120 days after their license expiration date.
The Texas Legislature passed House Bill No. 2847 (HB 2847) (https://legiscan.com/TX/text/HB2847/2019) in 2019, allowing certain barbering and cosmetology services to be scheduled through a digital network. The services must be performed by a licensed barber or cosmetologist and performed at a location not licensed by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) as a cosmetology salon or barbershop. The bill added Section 1603.208.
RE: Information regarding your state's back-to-practice permission date and safety guidelines to minimize risk of exposure to and spread of COVID-19 in the workplace.
There have been many changes in the esthetics and cosmetology professions and communities in response to COVID-19 (coronavirus). ASCP, AHP, and ANP have summarized below how COVID-19 has impacted Texas, from executive orders affecting business closures, to reopening protocols modifying practice procedures, to financial programs developed to aid the unemployed.
There have been many changes in the massage therapy and cosmetology industries and communities in response the COVID-19 (coronavirus). From executive orders affecting businesses, to emergency rulemaking altering renewal timelines, to distance learning modifying the student experience. ABMP, ASCP, and AHP have summarized below how COVID-19 has impacted the licensing regulations and laws in the state of Texas and encourage you to pay special attention to the CARES Act outlined at the bottom of this email, which addresses financial aid and unemployment benefits.
Texas House Bill No. 2847 (HB 2847) (https://legiscan.com/TX/text/HB2847/2019), effective September 1, 2019, provided for multiple changes impacting the practice of barbering and cosmetology. A reduced 1,000-hour barbering/cosmetology program and the inclusion of a remote service business are the biggest changes written into HB 2847.